Media Information

Sep 17, 2012

Cream of the Events Crop Take Home the Trophies

The coveted Australian Event of the Year for 2012 was awarded from what the judges described as a particularly close set of finalists to the spectacular Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour. Opera Australia’s La Traviata, set against the backdrop of Sydney Harbour, was also the winner of the Best Cultural, Arts or Music Event category.

The elegant ceremony, attended by hundreds of events professionals and streamed online to record number of viewers, was put together by the industry’s favourite specialist suppliers in key areas of event production, and praised as one of the most important events in the industry calendar.

The winners in 2012 represented all corners of Australia, from The Light in Winter at Fed Square in Melbourne, to the Hawaiian Ride for Youth in WA, to the double winner for two years in a row, South Australia’s Santos Tour Down Under.

For the first time, guests and online viewers of the webcast decided the winner for the Entertainer of the Year, choosing from their favourite of the live performances by the finalists. Father-daughter duo, Harmony and Darryl Lovegrove, took out the prize after their touching display of generational talent.

In another first for the Awards, a surprise Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to John Allen AM, currently co-chair of the Event Awards judging panel, and Foundation Director of the Australian Centre for Event Management. Lena Malouf CSEP AIFD and Mary Lopez AM were also named as recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award.


John Allen and Lena Malouf, Lifetime Achievement Award winners

 John Allen and Lena Malouf, Lifetime Achievement Award winners

The Electric Canvas, William Angliss Institute, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, Event Planet and David Atkins Enterprises were also amongst the winners this year.


Full List of Finalists and Winners


Australian Event of the Year

WINNER: Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour - Opera Australia


Sydney Olympic Park Best Sporting Event

WINNER: 2012 Santos Tour Down Under - Events South Australia

Apia International Sydney 2012 - Tennis Australia

Paspaley Polo in the City - Event Planet Pty Ltd


Best Tourism Event*

WINNER: 2012 Santos Tour Down Under - Events South Australia


Best Charity or Cause-Related Event

WINNER: Hawaiian Ride for Youth 2012 – Youth Focus Incorporated

Camp Quality Supper Club - Camp Quality

Mother's Day Classic 2012 - Women in Super


CIM Magazine Best Meeting or Conference

WINNER: Mumbrella360 - Focal Attractions Pty Ltd

Cisco Live 2012 - Cisco Systems Australia Pty Ltd

Events with Moore & Gluepot Productions


Best Cultural, Arts or Music Event

WINNER: Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour - Opera Australia

Outpost 2011 - Sydney Harbour Federation Trust

The 23rd Annual Bluesfest Byron Bay - Bluesfest Pty Ltd


Best Corporate Event

WINNER: By Design Group Corporate Showcase - Atlantic Group [v] Companies

AIME Welcome Reception - Melbourne Convention + Visitors Bureau

Wintergarden Launch Event - LOUD events


Best Exhibition

WINNER: Asia- Pacific’s International Mining Exhibition 2011 - Reed Exhibitions Australia

Asia-Pacific Incentives & Meetings Expo (AIME) - Melbourne Convention + Visitors Bureau

MasterChef LIVE 2011 - Brand Events Pty Ltd


Coates Hire Best Community Event

WINNER: The Light in Winter- Fed Square Pty Ltd

Autumn Vibes (SMH Autumn of the Arts) - The Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust

Moomba 2012 - City of Melbourne


Academy of Wedding Planners Best Private Event

WINNER: Nadine and Elie’s Wedding - Staging Connections

Belinda & Andrew's Wedding - Decor It

Luke & Jenn's Melbourne Wedding - Georgeous


Best New Event

WINNER: Outpost 2011 - Sydney Harbour Federation Trust

Toy and Game Expo - O2C Pty Ltd


Best Regional Event

WINNER: Ulysses AGM Event Mildura 2012 - Mildura Rural City Council

Clicquot in the Snow (Veuve Clicquot Australia) - Event Planet Pty Ltd

Wodonga Children's Fair - Wodonga City Council


Best Achievement in Design, Look or Theming

WINNER: The Electric Canvas for their work on Vivid Sydney

George P Johnson Pty Ltd for their work on Emirates Melbourne Cup Birdcage Marquee 2011

Imagination Australia Pty Ltd for their work on 2011 Sydney New Year’s Eve


Best Achievement in Catering

WINNER: Belinda Franks Catering for their work on Paspaley Polo in the City 2011

Blanco Food and Events for their work on Penfolds Magill Estate - Trade Consumer Master Class


Best Achievement in Marketing, Communication or Sponsorship*

WINNER: Sydney Harbour Federation Trust for their work on Outpost 2011


Best Achievement in Sustainability

WINNER: Kogarah City Council for their Major Events and Citizenship Ceremonies

The 23rd Annual Bluesfest Byron Bay - Bluesfest Pty Ltd


Best Technical Achievement or Innovation

WINNER: Global Entries Online for their work on Equestrian Events

Norwest Productions Pty Ltd for their work on Handa Opera on the Harbour - La Traviata

SOTA Creative for their work on Subaru Australia Dealer Principle Launch Event of the MY12 Impreza and XV


Best Venue

WINNER: Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre

RACV City Club

Sydney Showground


Best Product or Service

WINNER: Bespoke Luxury Bathroom Module - Splashdown Event Services Pty Ltd - Peer Group Media

Global Entries Online - Global Internet Technologies Australia Pty Ltd


Best Education or Training Program

WINNER: William Angliss Institute Events Certificate, Diploma and Advanced Diploma of Events

Sunshine Coast Events Network - Sunshine Coast Council

Technical Performance Operations and Skills (TOPS) Traineeship - Staging Connections


Best Export

WINNER: David Atkins Enterprises

Song Division Pty Ltd

The Electric Canvas


Young Achiever of the Year

WINNER: Laura Sage - Event Planet Pty Ltd

Belinda Ancora - The Three Piece Suit

Brigitte Jonas - Out There Productions Australia Pty Ltd


Entertainer of the Year

WINNER: Harmony and Darryl Lovegrove

Soul Mystique

The Leading Men


Event Manager of the Year

WINNER: Event Planet Pty Ltd

George P Johnson Pty Ltd

Humm Pty Ltd


Lifetime Achievement Award


Mary Lopez AM

Lena Malouf CSEP AIFD

John Allen AM


*only one entry scored above the minimum average raw score to become a finalist